Hong Kong will be one of the stops on SVNS — the revamped rugby circuit that will be held in eight cities across the world. The Hong Kong Sevens — which will take place from April 5-7 — will have a festival vibe as part of World Rugby’s rebranded version of the sport. 

The new competition will feature 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams, and will kick off in December 2023 in Dubai, and then head to Cape Town, Perth, Vancouver, and Los Angeles, before arriving in Hong Kong.

Singapore will be the penultimate SVNS stop before the final in Madrid from May 31-June 2, 2024. 

Teams will compete in a new winner-takes-all grand final in Madrid, where the women’s and men’s SVNS champions will be crowned. 

In addition, all seven rounds of the circuit and the final will have combined men’s and women’s competitions and equal participation fees.

SVNS will combine rugby, music, food and experiences to create “the ultimate weekend-long get together for young people” to celebrate each city’s unique cuisine and culture.

Each city will also host a variety of off-the-field competitive and social sports at SVNS festivals, from non-contact rugby to functional fitness.

Header image credits: Hong Kong Sevens via Facebook

Share this article with your friends ~
5/5 - (2 votes)
See also
Hong Kong Sevens 2024 Tickets To Go On Sale On December 1

From the Middle East to the Far East and a couple of places in between, Anjali has lived in no fewer than seven cities in Asia, and has travelled extensively in the region. She worked as a lifestyle journalist in India before coming to Hong Kong, where her favourite thing to do is island-hopping with her daughter. You can check out her musings on motherhood, courtesy her Instagram profile.

Comments are closed.