Mainland Chinese authorities recently announced the extension of its visa-free policy for 12 countries until the end of 2025. On Tuesday, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesperson Lin Jian said that nationals of France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Malaysia, Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, and Luxembourg can visit the country for up to 15 days without a visa, until December 31, 2025.

The move covers travellers entering the country for business, tourism, visiting family and friends, and transit. Last year, Mainland China’s immigration authorities announced that citizens of six countries could visit the country for no longer than 15 days until November 30, 2024 on a trial basis. Since then, the list expanded to include another six nations.

According to official data, China welcomed over 13 million foreign visitors between January and March 2024, which included 1.98 million visa-free arrivals. Mainland China also eased entry requirements earlier this year, allowing travellers to get visas on arrival, extend their stay in the country, and apply for multiple-entry permits more easily. The country also scrapped transit visas for nine major Chinese airports for stays less than 24 hours long.

See also
Mainland China Cuts Visa Fees By 25% Until December 31, 2024

Header image credits: bjdlzx, a photostory via Canva

Share this article with your friends ~
5/5 - (1 vote)

From the Middle East to the Far East and a couple of places in between, Anjali has lived in no fewer than seven cities in Asia, and has travelled extensively in the region. She worked as a lifestyle journalist in India before coming to Hong Kong, where her favourite thing to do is island-hopping with her daughter. You can check out her musings on motherhood, courtesy her Instagram profile.

Add comment