The government announced yesterday that Hong Kong residents arriving from the US on or after December 13 at 0.00am will have to undergo 7 days quarantine at Penny’s Bay quarantine centre and 14 days in a designated quarantine hotel (DQH), as the country has been moved from Group A (21 days quarantine in a DQH) to Group A+.

This decision has been made following the discovery of an Omicron case by the Department of Health’s Public Health Laboratory Services Branch as part of the “test and hold” arrangement organized at the Hong Kong International Airport.

test and hold area waiting seats
Waiting hall for Covid test results at Hong Kong International Airport

When arriving to Hong Kong, travellers are being tested. If the result is negative, travellers are allowed to go to their quarantine hotel. If the result is positive, they will be transferred to the hospital for isolation and treatment.

Thirteen countries are now part of Group A+: Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and the US.

Also, the government announced that, starting from 0.00am on December 13, Cuba, Kuwait and Liechtenstein will be specified as Group A specified places.

Header image credits: Architectural Service Department

Share this article with your friends ~
4.2/5 - (5 votes)
See also
Places To Visit In Hong Kong : 20 Attractions & Tourist Spots You Must Go

Created by Hong Kong lovers for Hong Kong lovers, The HK HUB offers you a daily dose of stories, deals, and tips about this unique and amazing city. If you're looking for the best places to visit, to know more about the Hong Kong Culture, to find a cool restaurant or bar to chill with your friends, or an exciting thing to do over the weekend with your family, we've got you covered. The HK HUB opens the doors to Hong Kong.

Add comment